Funny Games

22 Feb

In this English-language remake of a deconstruction in the way violence is portrayed in the media, a family settles into its vacation home, which happens to be the next stop for a pair of young, articulate, white-gloved serial killers on an excursion through the neighborhood.

imdb

It’s official! Haneke keeps scaring the hell out of me! Last year I watched “La Pianiste” and I was shocked and now… Funny Games!

I haven’t seen the original German version and I’m not sure I really want to do it but deep down I enjoyed this movie because Haneke is a great director, scaring but great. He really knows how to describe madness, perversion, sadism and cruelty without using too much blood on screen. That’s why the movie is so shocking, it’s not just a horror movie with fake blood everywhere! It’s pure violence and humiliation. I really enjoyed the soundtrack (classic music VS metal) and Naomi Watts, a really good actress. What I didn’t like was the predictability of some decisions and actions, but I guess it’s impossible to be always unpredictable in this kind of movie and the remote control scene.

6.8


MaryG

Leave a Reply

