Dorian Gray

19 Jan

A naïve young man. A lovelorn artist. A corruptible Lord. A deal with the Devil. It all paints a dark picture of a Victorian London and how the rich and infamous party at their peril. Here, the telling of time and its consequence of experience for life’s treasures’ takes its toll on the body, mind and soul. The haunting and bleak tale of power, greed, vanity and inevitable self-destruction is ever present amongst the deceit, opium dens and sin.

imdb

Let’s just say it wasn’t the masterpiece I was ready to watch when I went to the cinema but at the same time I did enjoy the movie! Probably because “The picture of Dorian Gray” is my favorite book or because I fancy Ben Barnes…

Oscar Wilde was a genius and it was really hard to create a movie based on such a witty and mysterious novel and I enjoyed this attempt.

I enjoyed the gloomy and dark atmosphere (probably a bit too vampiristic… not that I didn’t like that), Ben Barnes was good even if he didn’t look so evil sometimes and Colin Firth is a great actor and I liked his Lord Henry.

I didn’t like Rachel Hurd-Wood as Sybil Vane so much because she was slighty different in the novel.

I loved the portrait… congratulations to the painter!

MaryG

2 Responses to “Dorian Gray”

  1. Mechelle Fogelsong 23 February 2010 at 3:44 pm #

    When I was 19, THE PICTURE OF DORNIAN GRAY was my favorite book, as well. I had no idea a movie had finally been made. How long has the movie been out?

    I’m from the US, so maybe the movie was never released here. Or maybe it was only released in the cities. (I live in a small farm town, so we don’t get all of the movies.) But I wonder if I can order it on Netflix.

    I liked your review, even though you said you were a little disappointed with Rachel Hurd-Wood as Sybil.

    News has it that Hurd-Wood is scheduled to play Gemma Doyle, when the movie version of A GREAT AND TERRIBLE BEAUTY comes out. I hope Hurd-Wood can act, because I really enjoyed that book.

    BTW, I did a blog post on GREAT AND TERRIBLE BEAUTY, if you’re not familiar with the book. Here’s the link: http://passinglovenotes.wordpress.com/2009/12/07/what-love-story-will-take-my-mind-off-of-my-own-crush/

    And I recently changed my blog’s format, but I like yours better than mine. Do you mind my asking: what format are you using?

  2. MaryG90 23 February 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    Hi! First of all thank you for reading my short review! I don’t know if it has been realeased in the US, maybe you could find more info here: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1235124/releaseinfo 🙂

    I’ve just read your post about “A GREAT AND TERRIBLE BEAUTY” and it’s really interesting! I’m curious now, I’ll read the book as soon as I can. Thanks for the suggestion.

    P.S. My format is “Pool” by Borja Fernandez . You can find it in the wordpress themes.

Leave a Reply

