Cashback & Prozac Nation

18 Aug

Two films… two stories… two worlds.

CASHBACK (2006)

After a painful break up with his first girlfriend Suzy, Ben, an aspiring artist, develops insomnia. To take his mind off his problem he spends his nights working at a local supermarket, where he meets colorful characters.

imdb

This movie is a real jewel. I ran into it for chance because it’s not so famous and it was a good discover. It has an innovative perspective and a good introspection. It’s worth it!

PROZAC NATION (2001)

Elizabeth “Lizzie” Wurtzel is a teenager accepted into Harvard with a scholarship in journalism. She has been raised by her divorced mother Mrs. Wurtzel since she was two years old, but she misses her father and feels needy and depressive.

imdb

Another movie not so known. On the whole I liked the movie, but sometimes some scenes are too long… in my opinion. It’s a good portrait of a strange feeling/condition… depression. Christina Ricci is an amazing actress..

Have you watched these movies yet?

XOXO MARYG90

4 Responses to “Cashback & Prozac Nation”

  1. Sheliabluerose 18 August 2009 at 2:44 pm #

    I so Completely love “Prozac Nation” I saw it for the first time completely by random chance right after I was diongnost w/ Bipolar2 which is a more mild case of bipolar but still just as isolating
    Ms.Ricci’s
    Michelle Williams
    and
    Jonathan Rhyes Myers
    Performances are all stellar

    • MaryG90 18 August 2009 at 3:07 pm #

      I’m happy you like this movie so much! And yes.. they’re great actors!!

  2. mcarteratthemovies 18 August 2009 at 7:32 pm #

    What a great combination of movies. I picked up “Cashback” from the IFC section at Target — I do that sometimes — and I was pleasantly surprised. I spent years waiting for “Prozac Nation” … not because I thought it would be a great movie but because I knew Christina Ricci would be great in it. And she was.

    • MaryG90 18 August 2009 at 8:13 pm #

      Yep! Christina was great, always good performances!

Leave a Reply

