True Blood – “I will rise up” – 02×09

17 Aug

I want to start this post with a huge *sob*… It’s a really moving episode and I cried three times!

Now I want to analyse some scenes so… if you haven’t watched the episode yet, stop reading now!

-SPOILER- -SPOILER- SPOILER-

1. Sookie sucking bullets from Eric’s chest

I felt a little nauseous when I saw all that blood and guts on the walls of the building but the scene was really funny and Eric’s look was priceless. He was really satisfied. I’ve read the book so it was not a big surprise, but it was good!

2. Jason and Sookie talking

The first time I cried in the episode! The lines were amazing and Anna Paquin & Ryan Kwanten were perfect.

3. Sookie’s dream/fantasy

Normally this would have been my favourite scene… but it wins the second prize (Are you curious to know the winner?). This is definitely the sexiest scene of the series… for now. I don’t know what to say because I have no words but Eric was too hot to watch… Probably Sookie was hot too but I need a male opinion.

4. Jessica and Hoyt and… mum!

I haven’t understood why Hoyt wanted his mum (a really gentle woman that hates everybody and everything, above all… vampires) to know his girlfriend but it definitely wasn’t a good idea. Mum made little Jessica cry… poor girl, she’s so nice and cute!

5. Bill punching Eric

As you may understand from my posts I’m in “Team Eric” (I’m in “Team Edward” too… even if I don’t like the word “team”) and I don’t like Bill to punch Eric’s face (fortunately it doesn’t hurt so much cause they’re vampires). Moreover it was a bad moment for Eric and Bill was not at all sensible.

6. Eric & Godric talking on the roof

The second time I cried! Sorry but I saw Eric crying and begging, it was a big shock! I felt like hugging him like a teddy bear (a huge teddy bear) and pat him on the back.

7. Sookie & Godric and… the big finale!

The last & best scene… my third crying. No words to describe it. An amazing dialogue about life and death and then… Godric is gone. Another huge *sob*.

During this episode I argued with my mum, my grand-mother and my uncle because I told them to shut up and go away. I’m sorry now but they came in during Sookie’s fantasy! Quite embarassing…

Now it’s your turn! Tell me your opinion about this episode!

XOXOMARYG90

P.S. If you want more screenshots in HQ email me! (read the “About me” page)

9 Responses to “True Blood – “I will rise up” – 02×09”

  1. Trendkiler 17 August 2009 at 8:38 pm #

    Sorry you got interrupted! Luckily the episode will replay tonight and about 20 more times before next Sunday. I’ll be rewatching this one again too – lots to savor!

    • MaryG90 17 August 2009 at 8:48 pm #

      Yeah! Thank God 🙂 lol

  2. hellopresto 17 August 2009 at 9:05 pm #

    I felt like this episode was the “eye of the storm,” on of the quieter, more tension building episodes with conflict in the church right before, and the huge conflict with Maryanne in the next episode. The scene with Sookie and Jason was a bit too long for my taste, but the scene with Godric was good and also when Bill slugged Eric. I wonder if they will ever have an all out fight, and if Bill would even have a chance against Eric. Maybe he can bash him over the head with a flatscreen- that seems to work well.

    • MaryG90 17 August 2009 at 9:12 pm #

      The flatscreen works fine 🙂 and it would be quite exciting to see a real fight! I can’t wait to see the conflict with Maryanne too. Thanks for the comment 🙂

  3. Mike 17 August 2009 at 10:41 pm #

    The episode as a whole was pretty good. I have to say I was rather sad when Godric died, but ever since they first found him, I kind of had a feeling something was going to happen to him. He’s one of those characters that’s just too powerful, kind of like in a video game. You find this really awesome character that can beat anyone, and he gets killed by a stick or something because the good guys just aren’t allowed to have awesome people. It’s bool sheet! By the way, it’s good to see I’m not the only one that’s getting sick of the Maryann scenes. At first it was like “Whoa… this is crazy.” and now it’s like “Ugh.. this shit again?” I find myself wanting to fast forward to the story archs I give a shit about, like the Dallas vampires.

  4. Mike 17 August 2009 at 10:45 pm #

    By the way, does anyone know a back story for Nan Flanagan? I didn’t read the books, and I’m just curious. She pretty much punked down all the vampires during that little meeting, including Eric and Godric. So I’m thinking she’s either older than both of them, or Godric just didn’t care about what she said and how she said it. He seemed to be eaten up with guilt over the deaths of the humans and vampires during the suicide attack. But I really can’t stand Nan Flanagan. I don’t know who I hate more, Nan or Maryann. Both of them are annoying as hell.

    • MaryG90 18 August 2009 at 8:41 am #

      Hi! Thank you for your opinion! Sorry but I don’t know a back story about Nan Flanagan… I’m reading the books now, so if I find that, I’ll tell you 🙂

  5. con 19 August 2009 at 5:10 am #

    Nan is not in the books. In the show, she supposedly work for the Vampire League of America, but I believe her authority comes from the Magister, another character that’s not in the book. I like them both though. I just like bad-ass characters, I guess. I also like Allen Ball’s addition of these characters into the show. Kind of give more structure to the whole Vampire hierarchy. I always felt the books didn’t explain the vampire politics very well, but perhaps that’s because it’s written from Sookie’s POV.

    • MaryG90 19 August 2009 at 9:23 am #

      Thanks for the clarification! 🙂

Leave a Reply

