Top 5 painters

28 Jul

Art has always fascinated human beings and yes… I’ve been fascinated too. This is my top 5 (painters only… )

5# LEONARDO DA VINCI

Leonardo is a well known genius so I’m not gonna talk about him. The picture on the left (“Virgin of the rocks“) is my favourite painting of his collection and when I saw it in Paris it really amazed me. It’s so alive and mysterious (I’m not talking about the Da Vinci Code but Leonardo was a really enegmatical person!).

4# EDGAR DEGAS

L’absinthe” is another amazing painting that unfortunately I’ve never seen even if I’ve been to to the Musée d’Orsay… Two words to describe it: loneliness and alienation.

3# SALVADOR DALì

The “Divine Dalì“. The nickname says everything. Surrealism is my favourite avant-garde (with Futurism) and it’s my aim to see some of his works (not just paintings). I yearn for visiting MOMA in NYC to see this painting (“The persistence of memory“) but it’s really far from Italy…

2# HENRY DE TOULOUSE-LAUTREC

At the Moulin Rouge” in one word: innovative.

1# VINCENT VAN GOGH

Here we are on the top! Another genius, another sad man… “The Starry night” is my favourite painting and it’s hard to describe. Three words: torment, distress, agony.

What’s your top 5?

XOXO MARYG90

One Response to “Top 5 painters”

  1. Jenny 29 July 2009 at 5:04 am #

    Hey hun…great blog! I like how you’re sharing your thoughts about your favorite painters and philosophers! I also adore Salvador Dali…I studied Spanish art a lot in high school and he is one of my favorites too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

